Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Wins to decide 2009 title

Tuesday 17th March 2009

The driver with the most wins will be crowned the 2009 World Champion, the FIA have announced.

In a statement, the governing body declared: "The WMSC accepted the proposal from Formula One Management to award the Drivers' Championship to the driver who has won the most races during the season.

"If two or more drivers finish the season with the same number of wins, the title will be awarded to the driver with the most points, the allocation of points being based on the current 10, 8, 6 etc. system."

The proposal of a medals system was put forward by F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone but it was slammed by many F1 personalities.

"I think it's a nonsense," former team boss Eddie Jordan told BBC Radio Five Live last year when the idea was first thrown around. "The focus of everyone in Formula One at the moment must be on the current situation with costs and cost cutting, and nothing else. The rest is just dressing it up.

"The points are necessary. I was one of the team principals in the team principals' meetings who advocated that the points should go down to eighth place, because one point to a team down there is as important as a win is to the likes of McLaren and Ferrari, and we must never forget that.

"I can promise you, having been in that position, two points against no points is a huge difference."

Had this medals system been used in 2008 then Felipe Massa, and not Lewis Hamilton, would have been crowned Champion as the Ferrari driver clinched six victories to Hamilton's five.

The WMSC rejected an alternative option from the Formula One Teams' Association to change the points awarded to drivers finishing first, second and third to 12, nine and seven points respectively.

Source : Planet F1

No comments: